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	<title>rickberg.com</title>
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	<link>http://rickberg.com</link>
	<description>Marketing Blog</description>
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		<title>Search Engine Optimization Tips and Tricks</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/seo/10-basic-seo-tips-everyone-should-know/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/seo/10-basic-seo-tips-everyone-should-know/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 18 Mar 2012 01:09:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[SEO]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[SEO tips]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rickberg.com/?p=209</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Every business with a Web site should make Search Engine Optimization &#8212; trying to get your site as high up as possible on Google and/or Bing search-results pages &#8212; a part of their growth strategy. At its most basic, &#8220;SEO&#8221; means finding ways to increase your site&#8217;s appearance in web visitors&#8217; search results. This generally means more [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>Every <a id="itxthook0" href="http://www.rickberg.com/SEO/10-basic-seo-tips-everyone-should-know" rel="nofollow">business</a> with a Web site should make Search Engine Optimization &#8212; trying to get your site as high up as possible on Google and/or Bing search-results pages &#8212; a part of their growth strategy.</p>
<p>At its most basic, &#8220;SEO&#8221; means finding ways to increase your site&#8217;s appearance in web visitors&#8217; search results. This generally means more traffic to your site.</p>
<p>While intense SEO can involve <a id="itxthook1" href="http://www.rickberg.com/SEO/10-basic-seo-tips-everyone-should-know" rel="nofollow">complex</a> site restructuring with a firm (or consultant) that specializes in this area, there are a few simple steps you can take yourself to increase your search engine ranking.</p>
<p>All it requires is a little effort, and some re-thinking of how you approach content on your site.</p>
<p>Read more: http://www.rickberg.com/SEO/10-basic-seo-tips-everyone-should-know <span id="more-209"></span></p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Check yo&#8217;self before you wreck yo&#8217;self!</h2>
<div>
<div>You won&#8217;t know if your SEO efforts are working unless you regularly check your search engine ranking and placement standings. <a href="http://www.marketingvox.com/how-to-9-basic-seo-tips-037438/">MarketingVox </a>suggests that you keep an eye on your page rank with tools like <a href="http://www.alexa.com/">Alexa</a> and the <a href="http://www.google.com/toolbar/ff/index.html">Google toolbar</a>.</div>
<p>It&#8217;s also important to check your referrer log regularly to track where your visitors are coming from and the search terms they&#8217;re using to find your site, according to <a href="http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/144859/driving_site_traffic_with_search_engine_optimization_and_paid_advertising.html">PC World</a>.</p>
</div>
<p>You should also be checking your &#8220;local&#8221; results.. check google places, yelp, citysearch.com, etc.. any main social media site where people could leave bad/poor reviews.. you need to always be checking what the word on the street is about your business!  Reputation is everything!</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Keywords, keywords, keywords!</h2>
<div>
<p>You should be conscious of placing appropriate keywords throughout every aspect of your site: your titles, content, URLs, and image names. Think about your keywords as search terms &#8212; how would someone looking for information on this topic search for it?</p>
<p>The title tag and page header are the two most important spots to put keywords, <a href="http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/144859/driving_site_traffic_with_search_engine_optimization_and_paid_advertising.html">PC World</a> notes.</p>
<p>BEWARE: Putting ridiculous amounts of keywords on your site will get you labeled as a spammer, and search engine spiders are programmed to ignore sites guilty of &#8220;keyword-stuffing.&#8221; Be strategic in your keyword use.</p>
</div>
<h2></h2>
<h2>Link back to your site!</h2>
<div>
<div>There is probably no more basic strategy for SEO than the integration of internal links into your site &#8212; it is an easy way to boost traffic to individual pages, <a href="http://www.seoconsult.co.uk/SEOBlog/top-seo-tips/back-to-basics-for-search-engine-optimisation.html">SEO Consult</a> says.</div>
<p>You should make it standard to link back to your archives frequently when creating new content. <a href="http://www.marketingvox.com/how-to-9-basic-seo-tips-037438/">MarketingVox</a> advises that you also make the anchor text search-engine-friendly: &#8220;The more relevant words point to a page, the more likely that page is to appear in search results when users run a query with those terms.&#8221;</p>
<p>As with all other SEO approaches, be sure your links are appropriate, and be careful not to cross the line into excessive linking &#8212; you don&#8217;t want your visitors to get annoyed.</p>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Create a sitemap yo!</h2>
<div>
<p>Adding a site map &#8212; a page listing and linking to all the other major pages on your site &#8212; makes it easier for spiders to search your site.</p>
<p>&#8220;The fewer clicks necessary to get to a page on your website, the better,&#8221; advises <a href="http://www.marketingvox.com/how-to-9-basic-seo-tips-037438/">MarketingVox</a></p>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Search friendly URLs (especially in WordPress!)</h2>
<div>
<p>Make your URLs more search-engine-friendly by naming them with clear keywords.</p>
<p><a href="http://www.seoconsult.co.uk/SEOBlog/cheap-seo/are-your-urls-friendly.html">SEO Consult</a> explains: &#8220;For instance, it’s easy to understand what ‘www.puppyfun.co.uk/puppyhealth/vitamins’ would contain. It’s less easy to understand if the in-house classification system of the business is used, for example ‘www.puppyfun.co.uk/11789/s201.htm’. A dynamic URL is similarly off-putting, even if it contains recognisable words: ‘www.puppyfun.co.uk/search/?s=”health”’.</p>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Avoid Flash.. like the plague!</h2>
<div>
<p>Flash might look pretty, but it does nothing for your SEO. According to the <a href="http://www.searchenginejournal.com/55-quick-seo-tips-even-your-mother-would-love/6760/">Search Engine Journal</a>, &#8220;Frames, Flash and AJAX all share a common problem – you can’t link to a single page&#8230; Don’t use Frames at all and use Flash and AJAX sparingly for best SEO results.&#8221;</p>
<p>&#8220;If you absolutely MUST have your main page as a splash page that is all Flash or one big image, place text and navigation links below the fold,&#8221; the post continues.</p>
<p>Plus, with the a greater percentage of people looking at web sites via their non-flash compatible mobile devices (iphone, ipad, ipod), you would be wise to do away with flash altogether&#8230; if you absolutely feel the need for some awe inspiring graphics.. look into HTML5!</p>
</div>
<h2>Image descriptions</h2>
<div>
<p>Spiders can only search text, not text in your images &#8212; which is why you need to make the words associated with your images as descriptive as possible.</p>
<p>Start with your image names: adding an &#8220;ALT&#8221; tag allows you to include a keyword-rich description for every image on your site. <a href="http://www.perfect-optimization.com/image-alt-tags.htm">Perfect Optimization explains an easy way to do this.</a></p>
<p>The visible text around your images is valuable for SEO: <a href="http://www.marketposition.com/blog/archives/2006/12/seo_for_images.html">MarketPosition</a> suggests adding captions to all your pictures and being descriptive with the text in immediate physical proximity to your images.</p>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Content</h2>
<div>
<p>Your content needs to be fresh, shiny and new &#8212; updating often and quite regularly is paramount for getting good ranking!</p>
<p>&#8220;The best sites for users, and consequently for search engines, are full of oft-updated, useful information about a given service, product, topic or discipline,&#8221; <a href="http://www.marketingvox.com/how-to-9-basic-seo-tips-037438/">MarketingVox</a> explains.</p>
<p>One way to ensure that your site gets new content on a frequent basis is to integrate a blog. &#8220;Get the owner or CEO blogging. It’s priceless!&#8221; the <a href="http://www.searchenginejournal.com/55-quick-seo-tips-even-your-mother-would-love/6760/">Search Engine Journal</a> suggests. An executive blog is an excellent way to reach out to your clients, create more opportunities for internal and external linking, while giving your site a more personal voice.</p>
</div>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<h2>Social media exposure</h2>
<div>
<p>A customer service facebook page or company owner blog are just a few examples of social media exposure, an important SEO strategy according to <a href="http://www.seoconsult.co.uk/SEOBlog/top-seo-tips/page/3">SEO Consult</a>. You should be distributing links to fresh content on your site across appropriate social networking platforms.</p>
<p>Whether displayed on your company&#8217;s account, or recommended, re-tweeted, and re-distributed by someone else, this strategy exponentially muliplies the number of places where visitors will view your links.</p>
</div>
<h2>Link to others</h2>
<div>
<div>An easy way to direct more traffic to your site is by developing relationships with other sites.</div>
<p><a href="http://www.pcworld.com/businesscenter/article/144859/driving_site_traffic_with_search_engine_optimization_and_paid_advertising.html">PC World</a> suggests that you personally ask the webmasters of well-respected sites if they&#8217;ll include a link to your site on theirs. Be sure to return the favor &#8212; then everyone wins!</p>
<p>Make certain that your partner has a good web-reputation, of course. <a href="http://www.marketingvox.com/how-to-9-basic-seo-tips-037438/">MarketingVox</a> warns against getting tied to a &#8220;link farm&#8221; whose bad SEO habits could bring you down.</p>
</div>
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		<title>Text / Mobile Marketing Systems</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/mobile-messaging/text-mobile-marketing-systems/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/mobile-messaging/text-mobile-marketing-systems/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 17 Mar 2012 23:51:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Mobile Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Mobile Messaging]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Text Message Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Text Messaging]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile messaging marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mobile messaging system]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Text messaging marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[text messaging system]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rickberg.com/?p=205</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[You have probably heard a lot lately about how every business needs to be doing mobile marketing or &#8220;text message marketing&#8221;. I&#8217;m sure you’ve heard that to be competitive in today’s business environment you need to have a way to communicate with people on their mobile devices.  Email is all but DEAD.. no one reads [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>You have probably heard a lot lately about how every business needs to be doing mobile marketing or &#8220;text message marketing&#8221;. I&#8217;m sure you’ve heard that to be competitive in today’s business environment you need to have a way to communicate with people on their mobile devices.  Email is all but DEAD.. no one reads it, opens it or cares about sorting through all the junk and SPAM in their inbox..  so in a nutshell, using mobile in today’s business environment is no longer optional, but mandatory if you are to remain competitive.</p>
<h2>Mobile Marketing/Text Message Marketing is No Longer OPTIONAL!</h2>
<p>I’m sure you are aware that virtually every mobile phone does text messaging.  What  you may not know, is that text messages have an open rate of nearly 98%.</p>
<p>You may have even decided that you need to set up a text message marketing campaign for yourself or your business so you can interact with the billions of people with mobile phones about your awesome business.</p>
<p>But there is a problem…</p>
<p>Up until now your experience with text messaging is sending a quick text messages to your family members, a comment to a close friend or maybe even love texts to that special someone. But have you ever sent a text to a list of hundreds of people talking about a new product, in store sales or a mobile coupon?</p>
<p>Most, if not all, people are all familiar with text messaging for personal use, but most people are not aware of how to use texting for business purposes.</p>
<p>I was in the same situation. I wanted to use text message marketing in my local business, but had no idea what to do first or second.  I researched different companies that provided mobile messaging services, but they were extremely expensive and wayyyyy cost prohibitive.  After a lot of trial and error and going through a ton of wasted $$,  I have finally found a company that has developed a step-by-step process for setting up and sending out a profitable text message marketing campaign.</p>
<p>If you&#8217;re serious about the mobile revolution, you will get this, with everything you need to  sell text message services like pros.</p>
<p>Their Text Message Marketing system is the perfect choice for small business owners, marketing consultants, direct sales reps or teams that want to develop a texting campaign for themselves or clients.</p>
<p>Check out <a href="http://bizsparx.com">BizSparx.com</a></p>
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		<title>Website Makeover for Delta Bail Bonds</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/website-design/websitedesign/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/website-design/websitedesign/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 17 Mar 2012 21:14:41 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[SEO]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Website Design]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rickberg.com/?p=193</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Before After]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p><a href="http://www.deltabail.com/index_.html"><img src="http://rickberg.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/deltabefore.jpg" alt="" title="deltabefore" width="550" class="alignnone size-full wp-image-192" />Before</a></p>
<p><a href="http://www.deltabail.com/"><img src="http://rickberg.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/deltaafter.jpg" alt="" title="deltaafter" width="550" class="alignnone size-full wp-image-191" />After</a></p>
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		<title>How to use SocialOomph to manage your Social Media Accounts</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/social-media/socialoomph/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/social-media/socialoomph/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 17 Mar 2012 15:26:31 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=83</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Awesome tool to help you manage your Twitter, Facebook and Blog Accounts SocialOomph: socialoomph.com Socialoomph is a one place for everything relating to Social Media and Twitter follower management. It allows you to schedule your Twitter updates, automate your follower management tasks on Twitter, cleanup your Twitter Direct Message Inbox from junk, and receive email [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>Awesome tool to help you manage your Twitter, Facebook and Blog Accounts<br />
SocialOomph: socialoomph.com</p>
<p>Socialoomph is a one place for everything relating to Social Media and Twitter follower management. It allows you to schedule your Twitter updates, automate your follower management tasks on Twitter, cleanup your Twitter Direct Message Inbox from junk, and receive email of tweets that contain targeted and relevant keywords. If you want, there are more options for a Pro paid account, allowing you to schedule updates to your Facebook profile and pages, schedule posts for your blogs, find quality Twitter accounts to follow and more. And you can also do a mass delete too.</p>
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		<title>The Power of creating a List of Email and Mobile Numbers (and using an efficient Contact Management system)</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/mlm/the-power-of-creating-a-list/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/mlm/the-power-of-creating-a-list/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 16 Mar 2012 23:33:42 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[CRM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MLM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Network Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online Home Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[autoresponders]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business assets]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Email list management]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Lead Management]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[opt-in]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=61</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Sage Advise for Direct Sales Reps: &#8220;He who controls the spice, controls the universe! -Baron Vladimir Harkonnen&#8221; The &#8220;spice&#8221; I am referring to in this quote is your &#8220;prospect and/or customer list&#8221;! If you&#8217;ve been around the block a few times and left many different direct sales companies for &#8220;greener pastures&#8221;, naturally, you’re going to [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p><strong>Sage Advise for Direct Sales Reps:<br />
&#8220;<em>He who controls the spice</em>, controls the universe! -Baron Vladimir Harkonnen&#8221;</strong></p>
<p>The &#8220;spice&#8221; I am referring to in this quote is your &#8220;prospect and/or customer list&#8221;!</p>
<p>If you&#8217;ve been around the block a few times and left many different direct sales companies for &#8220;greener pastures&#8221;, naturally, you’re going to let all your past customers know about your new move. In doing so, you could end up on the business end of a lawsuit for &#8220;enticement&#8221; from your old company. If you have grabbed your customer list information from your former company, they can rightfully claim that you were using confidential company information that was indeed &#8220;owned&#8221; by your former company, used explicitly to &#8220;harvest&#8221; their customers and consultants, and depending on the size of your team, could potentially cost them millions of dollars in lost revenue.  Certainly worth their while to engage in litigation and cause you some real financial pain..<span id="more-61"></span></p>
<p>If you look at most direct sales consultant agreements or policy manuals, you’ll see wording that says all customer and consultant lists belong to the company, and that you are granted a license to use that information as long as you are a rep. Customer lists are confidential, and considered an important &#8220;trade secret&#8221; that could cause financial harm should they fall into the &#8220;wrong hands&#8221;.</p>
<p>Now, if it sounds like I&#8217;m trying to put the fear of God in you, you are right. As a business owner, you need to be aware of all the details of any contracts/agreements that you sign. Make sure you’re reading the fine print in your consultant agreement and policy manual.</p>
<p>You hold ZERO ownership claim to any list that is controlled by your direct sales company. Does that sound fair? After all, you did all the hard work to get all these new customers! Well, I&#8217;m here to tell you, it&#8217;s not fair.. but there is something you can do about it!</p>
<p>Let me explain: whenever a client or lead visits your company sponsored website and signs up for the company sponsored newsletter, they are part of the company sponsored marketing system and their contact info is essentially owned by the company. It doesn’t matter if the client is a lead from another state or someone from your center of influence. The company owns the lead.</p>
<p>As a business owner, YOU need to have a list that YOU control. You need to create this list, as this will become a key asset to this business and any other you may choose to create later on. Now, as the owner of &#8220;Your Biz, Inc.&#8221;, you have a right to contact, market and serve anyone on your own list, if you have created it correctly.</p>
<p><strong>Here is how you do it correctly:</strong><br />
It is PARAMOUNT that you have potential clients opt-in to your list BEFORE you recommend your company products or services.  That means acquiring the prospects data through &#8220;blind&#8221; lead pages or advertising.. at no point, should you have language on any of your initial lead capture pages that say you are affiliated or doing business as a &#8220;representative&#8221; or &#8220;independent distributor&#8221; of &#8220;Company X&#8221;.  In doing so, you can prove beyond the shadow of doubt that they were YOUR leads first. It’s as easy as having them sign up for your monthly newsletter (not the company newsletter, YOUR&#8217;S), through your own PERSONAL website or BLOG. When leads opt-in, they have given you written permission to be added to your marketing list.<br />
If you are not technically inclined and need coaching on how to do this, please signup for our newsletter, as we will send out these &#8220;How to&#8221; tutorials to you. Also, if you don&#8217;t currently subscribe to an email or text messaging service to handle your lists and your email and SMS / Text message campaigns, here is the <span style="color: blue;"><strong><a href="http://www.bizsparx.com" target="_blank">company we use</a> </strong></span>and I highly recommend (They also have a free 4 week trial period so you can check it out for free).</p>
<p><strong>ONE HUGE GIANT WARNING:</strong> Do NOT just add people to your list without them fully opting in, or you could be accused of violating CAN-SPAM regulations. Even if you have a list of email addresses that are listed in a funny email you were forwarded from friends and family&#8230; DON&#8217;T DO IT! Always get their permission. If they’re really your customers, they are usually happy to grant you that permission. If you want to find a way to automate a way to get people&#8217;s permission, we can help you with that as well!</p>
<p><strong>Last, but not least: Portability &amp; Flexibility</strong><br />
When you control the list, you determine how and when they are contacted. You can send them ANY message that is in alignment with the purpose of the list. Don’t send knitting tips to a list about financial management. You now assume responsibility for any and all messages going out to your list. It is also your responsibility to keep the list clean. Plus, if you move to a new company, you can take that list with you and avoid any potential pitfalls in the process!<img src="http://forms.aweber.com/form/displays.htm?id=TIxMHGycLByMLA==" alt="" border="0" /></p>
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		<title>Network Marketing on Twitter, Facebook and Google Part 1</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/advertising/network-marketing-on-twitter-facebook-and-google-part-1/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/advertising/network-marketing-on-twitter-facebook-and-google-part-1/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 07 Sep 2009 20:52:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Advertising]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[MLM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Network Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Online Home Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[adwords]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[free leads]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[google]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[lead generation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=88</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Advertising in Network Marketing on any social media platform, like Twitter or Facebook is like advertising on anything: it requires  a clear strategy and a way to measure results...]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<div>
<p>[fblistconnect]</p>
<p><span>By </span><span><a title="View all posts by Rick Berg" href="http://work-from-home.com/about">Rick Berg</a> (<a title="http://berg-marketing.com" href="http://berg-marketing.com">http://berg-marketing.com</a>)</span></p>
<h3>Network Marketing on Twitter, Facebook and Google</h3>
<p>Advertising in Network Marketing on any social media platform, like Twitter or Facebook is like advertising on anything: it requires  a clear strategy and a way to measure results.<span id="more-88"></span></p>
<p>Back in 1998, while testing network marketing advertising online, I earned over $10,000 per month by advertising and selling network marketing products online. Since then, I have become a multimillionaire and developed winning strategies in advertising and marketing for all types of businesses.  I&#8217;m about to share some cool secrets and some of these strategies that have made made me a successful marketer.. if you are smart, you will read this and take many notes and then go an put these into action in your own business!</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p><span style="font-size: 15px; font-weight: bold;">One Network Marketing Business: Two different Revenue Streams</span></p>
<p>Network Marketing Distributors typically have at least two sources of revenue from their business:</p>
<p>1. Earning an income from retailing directly to customers.</p>
<p>2. Recruiting and establishing a downline to leverage their marketing plan.</p>
<p>This blog series will work with ANY type of network marketing business and show you specifically how to market and advertise your products and business opportunity online using Twitter, Facebook and Google with success!</p>
<p><strong>A Brief lesson in advertising:</strong></p>
<p>I&#8217;m going to be covering some common advertising terms in this article and it would be helpful for you to actually understand what I&#8217;m saying here if you are planning on actually learning anything here!  When spending money on advertising, whether it is online or using traditional media (i.e. Radio, TV, Print), you want to know how effective your advertising is and what your return on investment is right?  Well, if you are not a dummy, the answer is &#8220;of course&#8221;.   So here are some terms you need to know:</p>
<p><strong>CPM</strong> = Cost per Impression: This is how many times your ad was &#8220;displayed&#8221; on an ad partner/affiliate website.. this really means cost per &#8220;one thousand&#8221; impressions.  You know those neat little banner ads we all know and love, that you see on any given site, like MSN.com, etc?  The advertisers who pay for those ads pay a fixed amount for every 1000 times that little banner ad is displayed.  The immediate (but not the only) way to measure the performance on this ad type would be how many clicks this ad generates.  It may sound like a relative bargin when you see offers on CPM networks for five bucks to display your ad a thousand times, but if you only get a handful of clicks, chances are, you are going to lose money here.</p>
<p><strong>CPC</strong> = Cost per Click: This is the actual cost to generate one &#8220;visit&#8221; to your site.. this is NOT a lead!  Just any joe blow who clicked or responded to your add and landed on your website, is considered a click.  The immediate (but not the only) way to measure the performance on this ad type would be how many leads this ad generates compared to clicks.  The most important thing you need to do here is make sure you have a proper way to track the &#8220;clicks to conversions&#8221;.  Most ad companies have little snippets of code that you can add to both your landing page as well as the immediate page after a lead has submitted their info.  Without this level of tracking, you might as well throw your money away.. or just go watch the Price is Right and send me your money..</p>
<p><strong>CPL</strong> = Cost per lead: As the name implies, this your actual cost to generate a &#8220;lead&#8221;.. remember, this is NOT a sale!  This means this is the actual cost to get someone to fill out their info on one of your lead capture pages.  Your CPL is measured by the conversion of a click to a lead.. if you are properly tracking your clicks as well as lead form submissions, you will have a percentage of clicks to leads.  example: 20 clicks to 1 lead = 5%.  Cost per lead = CPC/Conversion, so lets say in this example, one click costs .50&#8230; divide that by your 5% conversion and you see that those leads are costing you about $10 bucks each.  This is critical to know, especially as you look at your tracking further down your sales and recruiting pipeline.</p>
<p><strong>CPA</strong> = Cost per Acquisition: This is the total cost for you to generate a sale or acquisition.  If you are recruiting, this would be a measure of how many leads did it take to sign up a distributor.   If you have kept track on your lead costs, CPA = number of leads * the CPL / number of distributors.   So, using the example above for CPL, let&#8217;s say we generate 100 leads at 10 bucks a pop and if you are on top of working your leads, you sign up 10 new distributors.  CPA = 100*10/10, so you have a cost per acquisition at $100 per new distributor.</p>
<p><strong>ROI</strong> = Return on investment:  At the end of the day, for every dollar spent on any advertisement, how much money did you make. Now, with network marketing, there are a lot of things to consider when calculating this.  If it&#8217;s a single product sale and that&#8217;s all you ever get, then that&#8217;s it.. however, if you are a good distributor and you are following up with your new customers on a weekly and monthly basis to make sure they are getting the results that they should be getting, you will have repeat orders as well as referral customers.  Obviously, if you have this ongoing stream of orders from one customer, your ROI just keeps getting better and better!  The same applies to recruiting.. if you sign up a new distributor and you are on top of your followup and mentoring this new distributor properly, the number of new customers and distributors that one distributor can bring into your organization is almost limitless, making your ROI go through the roof!</p>
<p><strong>Conversion</strong> = You should know the conversions for every aspect of your advertising campaign.. Cost per Impression to Cost per click,  Cost per click to Cost Per Lead, Cost per Lead to Cost per Acquistion, etc.  If it is possible to measure, you need to track it.  You will find out, not all advertising sources are equal and you should have some established baselines for every ad type/source.  This means your banner ads will look completely different that what google adwords when it comes to overall ad performance and ultimately cost per acquisition.</p>
<p>So let&#8217;s put this altogether and see how this works in real life..</p>
<h3>Network Marketing with Google Adwords</h3>
<p>Distributors often use replicated lead generation pages, which due to the nature of replication have little chance to gain &#8220;organic&#8221; visibility on Google.  This is not a problem however, as you can guarantee certain levels of visibility with Google Adwords.</p>
<p>The clear advantage for distributors who can use these landing pages is that the Distributor does not need to be internet savvy, they just need to “drive traffic to the page”.</p>
<p>Google Adwords provide a system allowing anyone to target prospects on a keyword based model, whereas the advertisers bid for the keywords. Google is selling keywords on an auction type basis, allowing any advertiser to bid for the best possible position for a given keyword or ad.</p>
<p>The obvious goal here is spending less on ads than you ultimately earn on the backend sale or &#8220;conversion&#8221;. Let&#8217;s say your network marketing company marketing plan is a &#8220;breakaway&#8221; plan. If a Distributor takes in $250 for each new recruit that buys into a higher level of a breakaway plan, recruited solely using Google adwords, and your CPA (Cost per Aquisition) was less or equal to the $250, this would be ideal.</p>
<h3>The disadvantages of Google Adwords marketing for Network Marketing Distributors</h3>
<p>Relying only on Google Adwords can be an expensive venture; Google advertising cost can be tremendous and has actually increased every year since &#8220;Google Adwords&#8221; was released. If you are gunning for large traffic and in a competitive keyword like &#8220;work from home&#8221; or &#8220;home business&#8221;, total CPA is usually &#8220;upside-down&#8221; in terms of ad cost vs profit.  As I mentioned above, you need to keep track of every ad and how they perform, so you what kind of return on investment you are getting.  With that said, being upside-down initially may not be all that bad; if you are really on top of your new customers and distributors and making sure they are getting good product and business results, you will have ongoing orders and referral customers.  As they say, there is fortune in the followup.. and that is no lie!</p>
<h3>How to be Successful in Network Marketing recruiting using Google Adwords</h3>
<p>Let’s suppose you have some knowledge about keywords, targeting and AdWords, then you can figure out how many clicks you need to get one lead, and how many leads you need to sell one business pack and how many business packs you need to sell to get one new distributor, etc., ultimately, you will know the average CPA and the time frame within which you have to get these leads to be successful.</p>
<p>This knowledge lets you easily budget your business.</p>
<p>So using the same example I used above:</p>
<p>Let’s say you need 20 clicks to get 1 lead (at 50 cents a click), then every lead costs you $10</p>
<p>Let’s say you need 10 leads to sell a Business Pack, then each business pack creates a marketing costs of $100</p>
<p>Let’s say out of  3 Business Packs sold you recruit one distributor, that means your distributor costs $300 in marketing costs.</p>
<p>Let&#8217;s say your marketing plan has a breakaway commission of $250 when your new distributor gets to the manager or supervisor level and it takes 2 distributors to get one manager or supervisor: You are in the red with $300.</p>
<p>So once again, being upside-down initially may not be all that bad; if you are really on top of your new customers and distributors and making sure they are getting good product and business results, you will have ongoing orders and referral customers.. this will move you from being in the red to being in the black!</p>
<p>Advertising and marketing any MLM online needs multifaceted approach: Google Adwords is just one part of the equation..   In my next post, I&#8217;m going to show you how to generate &#8220;FREE&#8221; traffic to your sites using social media sites, like Twitter and Facebook!!!!</p>
<p><strong>Stay tuned for Network Marketing on Twitter, Facebook and Google Part 2!</strong></p>
</div>
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		<title>Fail your way to success?</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/personal-development/fail-your-way-to-success/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/personal-development/fail-your-way-to-success/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 04 Sep 2009 03:45:51 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Personal Development]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[fear of failure]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Inspiration]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[motivation]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[new business venture]]></category>

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		<description><![CDATA[You better believe that anyone that has had success, has had many failures on the way there!  Fear keeping you from at least trying to start a new business?  Check out this video and GET FIRED UP ABOUT MAKING A CHANGE IN YOUR LIFE!!]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p><a href="http://eteam-s3.s3.amazonaws.com/BluefishTV-Famous_Failures__Lesson_Available_.mp4" style="display:block;width:500px;height:400px;" id="player"> </a> </p>
<p><script language="JavaScript">flowplayer("player", "http://www.rickberg.com/flowplayer-3.2.7.swf" ,{clip: {autoPlay: false, autoBuffering: true}});</script></p>
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		<title>How to Use Facebook to Promote Your Home Business</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/how-to-use-facebook-to-promote-your-home-business/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/how-to-use-facebook-to-promote-your-home-business/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 28 Aug 2009 04:22:53 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Home Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attraction marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[branding]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[COI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[warm market]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=81</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Facebook has truly exploded into the mainstream. What was once a way to connect with friends at Harvard has since gained 200 million users and grown into much bigger shoes. Now it provides a host of business opportunities, offering enormous exposure of small businesses to a wide variety of networks. Interested yet? If you have [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>Facebook has truly exploded into the mainstream. What was once a way to connect with friends at Harvard has since gained 200 million users and grown into much bigger shoes. Now it provides a host of business opportunities, offering enormous exposure of small businesses to a wide variety of networks.</p>
<p>Interested yet? If you have ever thought about using social media to boost your sales potential for a home business, here are some ways to make the most of Facebook.<span id="more-81"></span></p>
<p><strong>Building Your Profile</strong></p>
<p>Based on site policies, a profile on Facebook must be tied to a human name, so no business can have one. You can use instead the &#8220;About Me&#8221; section to describe your business to others, as well as add links to your website, blog, Twitter, and any number of other resources.</p>
<p><strong>Building Your Contacts</strong></p>
<p>List To start connecting with people you know, you could search Facebook for individuals or groups, or import your contact database if you have one. Once you find a few friends you can find more by searching through their friends list. Obviously when it comes to business, the one with the most friends wins, so connect with as many potential clients as you can!</p>
<p><strong>Updating Your Status</strong></p>
<p>At the very top of the Facebook homepage is the status box. Every time you update your status, everyone in your contacts can see the update, so use this as an advantage for communicating to your clients. For business purposes, for instance, this is a great place to promote upcoming events or ideas.</p>
<p><strong>Participating in Groups</strong></p>
<p>Try searching the Facebook groups to find ones related to your industry or near you geographically. There are an incredible number and variety of groups available, since every user is entitled to make them. You could even start a group of your own &#8211; there&#8217;s no cost and the exposure is great. Just be sure that it&#8217;s not all promotion, but instead provide content for members to take part in.</p>
<p><strong>Creating Fan Pages</strong></p>
<p>Facebook has provided the ability to create fan pages for businesses, locations and celebrities. To create a fan page, scroll to the bottom of Facebook and click on &#8220;Advertising.&#8221; Next, click &#8220;Pages&#8221; at the top and follow the directions. Pages are a lot like profiles, allowing most of the interactive features. Fan pages also receive higher hits for Facebook searches, so you increase the chances of someone finding your page.</p>
<p>You should have a good idea now of how to get started and build your business opportunities through Facebook. It might be difficult to manage while you&#8217;re getting started but the experience only enriches with time, so keep at it.</p>
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		<title>A Very Informal Twitter Etiquette Guide</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/a-very-informal-twitter-etiquette-guide/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/a-very-informal-twitter-etiquette-guide/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 28 Aug 2009 04:03:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Home Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Social Media]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[attraction marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[branding]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[COI]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[internet marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[online business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[twitter]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[warm market]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=79</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Twitter has taken off like gangbusters in 2008. At the end of 2008 the numbers were telling us that 70% of all twitter users had joined in 2008. Some folks prefer to have a few close friends that follow them. Those folks can pretty much do as they please. But if you are interested in [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>Twitter has taken off like gangbusters in 2008. At the end of 2008 the numbers were telling us that 70% of all twitter users had joined in 2008. Some folks prefer to have a few close friends that follow them. Those folks can pretty much do as they please. But if you are interested in building a brand and using Twitter to promote it, here are some observations and best practices. Just keep in mind that old saying from grade school: &#8220;What if everyone did that?&#8221;<br />
<span id="more-79"></span><br />
<strong>Rules for tweeting:</strong></p>
<p>    * Don&#8217;t tweet more than about 4 or 5 times a day.<br />
    * Tweet interesting things.<br />
    * Share pictures and links with services like twitpic<br />
    * Don&#8217;t blather on about what you are eating unless you intend to share the recipe<br />
    * Don&#8217;t put private communications the public twitterstream<br />
    * Do NOT publically welcome all your new followers. Imagine reading pages of that.<br />
    * It is OK to tweet your blog posts, but it turns people off if that&#8217;s all you do.<br />
    * Do not join a &#8220;monetize your tweets&#8221; service such as Magpie, as it will make people dump you.<br />
    * Do not brag about how many followers you have.  Everyone can already see that.<br />
    * Do not ask for more followers. Boring!<br />
    * Retweet others frequently when they have tweeted something good.<br />
    * Reply to individuals in public if you think others would be interested.<br />
    * Do not tweet things like &#8220;Gaaaaaaah&#8221;. We need context.<br />
    * Tweet at least every other day.<br />
    * Be happy and positive.<br />
    * Be human.</p>
<p><strong>How to treat the people that follow you</strong></p>
<p>    * Do not send an auto-direct message thanking each new follower and sending them your pitch. Direct Messages are individual and personal.<br />
    * Thank new followers by following back if you haven&#8217;t yet.<br />
    * Do not direct message followers whom you are not following because they can&#8217;t direct message you back<br />
    * Recheck profiles of people you are not following from time to time.  Some twits just need a little while to get the hang of it.</p>
<p><strong>How to treat the people you follow</strong></p>
<p>    * Do not follow people just to get them to follow you back and then unfollow them.<br />
    * Do not do mass follows, or you will be considered a spammer even if you never tweet.<br />
    * Follow the followers of people you really like.<br />
    * Do not exclusively follow &#8220;Rock stars.&#8221;  Follow a few interesting noobs.  They&#8217;ll love you for it.<br />
    * Use a third party twitter client such as tweet deck to manage the twits that you follow into groups.<br />
    * Don&#8217;t just read your direct messages and replies. Dip into the stream from time to time.<br />
    * Give them some time to follow you back.<br />
    * Try to follow about as many people as follow you.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<title>The Keys for Staying Productive When Working At Home</title>
		<link>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/the-keys-to-stay-productive-when-working-at-home/</link>
		<comments>http://rickberg.com/online-home-business/the-keys-to-stay-productive-when-working-at-home/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 25 Aug 2009 14:55:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Rick Berg</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Online Home Business]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Work From Home]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[be your own boss]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[employee yourself]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[organization]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Productivity]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[setting schedules]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[task lists]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[working from home]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://work-from-home.com/?p=49</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[So you have made the leap! You have started your own home based business. It might be full time or just a few hours a week but, you have gone where every American wants to go! So you thought it was going to be cool to get out of bed at 8:45 and make coffee [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[</p>
<p>So you have made the leap! You have started your own home based business. It might be full time or just a few hours a week but, you have gone where every American wants to go!  So you thought it was going to be cool to get out of bed at 8:45 and make coffee and get to your computer at 9:00. Watch T.V. in the background while you worked all day or maybe you were just thinking of getting a afternoon nap in everyday!</p>
<p>It is all good until the 3rd day and reality sets in. You are not getting anything done!! It’s not easy to stay productive and effective when you’re working at home, especially if you have family or a roommate around.  Well no need to panic, it is possible to be productive from home you just have to hold yourself accountable.<span id="more-49"></span></p>
<p><strong>1. Work Space</strong><br />
Many people don’t have any extra rooms in their house to make into a office, so they are forced to work from the sofa or kitchen table. If you are going to be working from home full time you need to designate one spot to work. If you have to clean a corner out in your bedroom then do so. You must have a place where you can close a door and get away from the busy parts of the house!</p>
<p><strong>2.Tell People You’re Working With Set Hours!</strong><br />
Don’t let your spouse or kids keep bothering you. You must have a place to close the door and tell them you are working when the door is closed. Don’t have your friends over to watch Sports Center or The View in the morning, tell them you can hang out with them after 5:00. Remember your not being mean, this is your business and you have to be able to work!</p>
<p><strong>3.Get A Routine</strong><br />
If you are working full time from home or just a few hours a week get into the routine of doing the same thing day in and day out. That means get up every morning at the same time and start working at the same time every morning. If you start to sleep in on just one or two days you start to develop a new routine.  Remember, you have to &#8220;employee yourself&#8221;!  Keep the daily disciplines in place just like you would if you had to drive to a &#8220;job&#8221;!</p>
<p><strong>4. Make A Schedule</strong><br />
This goes with getting in a routine. Make a schedule and hold yourself to that schedule. It will help you stay on track and you won’t forget to do things..</p>
<p><strong>5. Make A To-Do-List</strong><br />
This is still my favorite productive tip. Keep a piece of paper next to you and when things come up that aren’t on your schedule put them on your to-do-list. You can also put your schedule and your to-do-list on your computer to help you stay organized.  A good resource for getting your life and your new business organized is a book by David Allen called &#8220;Getting things done&#8221; <a href="https://secure.davidco.com/store/catalog/Getting-Things-Done-Paperback-Save-40-p-16175.php">Get it here</a></p>
<p><strong>6. Stay on Task</strong><br />
Don’t get off your schedule and forget to finish your to-do-list! Its hard to hold yourself accountable when you don’t have a boss looking after you. So when you feel yourself getting off task just stop and ask yourself  how bad do I want my business to succeeded Its all up to you, your accountable.</p>
<p><strong>7. No TV.</strong><br />
This one is a no brainier NO TV while you are working! Now I know a few of you reading this are like I work better with the TV on. If you are one of those people have at it. I’m not going to argue with you. Now if you are the other person who knows it is bad for you, just leave it off.</p>
<p><strong>8. Take Breaks</strong><br />
Take Breaks just like you do at work! Take a lunch hour and get out of the house, get your blood flowing. If you try and work non- stop you are going to get burnout! Take your dog for a quick walk, get fresh air, and your Productivity will go up!</p>
<p><strong>9. Getting Dressed</strong><br />
Many people when they work at home think rolling out of bed and walking to work in your PJ’s is the greatest thing in the world. The downside is being in PJ’s most of the day probably won’t help. There’s a formality about getting dressed that prepares us mentally for the job ahead.</p>
<p><strong>10. Business Phone Line</strong><br />
Have a separate line for business only! Now at 1st you might be keeping your cost down, but when you can work it into the budget, it’s a must. I have used Skype for a year now and have a phone number with them. Its only $10/month and my phone is on my computer!</p>
<p><strong>11. When You Are Off, You Are Off</strong><br />
Enjoy your time off!  If you stop working at 5:30 and your business phone line rings at 8:30, let your voicemail get it! Don’t let your work take over your home life, it’s a must if you don’t want to get burned-out .</p>
<p><strong>12. E-mails</strong><br />
Don’t spend hours a day looking at your e-mails! Build it in your Schedule and do it one to two times a day. So many people spend half the day reading e-mails for nothing. If it doesn’t build your business, don’t do it!</p>
<p><strong>Remember, it&#8217;s all on you!  Employee yourself, look in the mirror at the end of the day and ask yourself, would you have been hired or fired for the effort you put in today if you were working for someone else?<br />
</strong></p>
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